#### SECOND REGULAR SESSION

### [PERFECTED]

# **SENATE BILL NO. 589**

### 93RD GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY SENATOR BARTLE.

Pre-filed December 1, 2005, and ordered printed.

Read 2nd time January 9, 2006, and referred to the Committee on the Judiciary and Civil and Criminal Jurisprudence.

Reported from the Committee March 2, 2006, with recommendation that the bill do pass.

Taken up for Perfection April 4, 2006. Bill declared Perfected and Ordered Printed, as amended.

3338S.01P

TERRY L. SPIELER, Secretary.

## AN ACT

To repeal sections 478.387, 478.463, 478.513, 478.705, and 478.710, RSMo, and to enact in lieu thereof six new sections relating to the judicial circuits.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Sections 478.387, 478.463, 478.513, 478.705, and 478.710,

2 RSMo, are repealed and six new sections enacted in lieu thereof, to be known as

3 sections 478.387, 478.463, 478.513, 478.705, 478.710, and 1, to read as follows:

478.387. There shall be [twenty-four] twenty-three circuit judges in the

2 twenty-second judicial circuit consisting of the city of St. Louis and Circuit
3 Clerk Mariano Favazza shall be empowered to choose who gets the

3 Clerk Mariano Favazza shall be empowered to choose who gets the
4 boot.

478.463. 1. There shall be nineteen circuit judges in the sixteenth judicial circuit consisting of the county of Jackson. These judges shall sit in nineteen divisions. Divisions one, three, four, six, seven, eight, nine, ten, eleven, twelve, [thirteen,] fourteen, fifteen and eighteen shall sit at the city of Kansas City and divisions two, five, **thirteen**, sixteen and seventeen shall sit at the city of Independence. Division nineteen shall sit at both the city of Kansas City and the city of Independence. Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions, the judge of the probate division shall sit at both the city of Kansas City and the city of 9 Independence.

2. Beginning August 28, 2006, there shall be one additional
 circuit judge position in the sixteenth judicial circuit, to be known as
 division twenty, which shall sit at the city of Independence.

478.513. 1. There shall be five circuit judges in the thirty-first judicial circuit consisting of the county of Greene. These judges shall sit in divisions numbered one, two, three, four and five.

2. The circuit judge in division three shall be elected in 1980. The circuit
judges in divisions one, four and five shall be elected in 1982. The circuit judge
in division two shall be elected in 1984.

3. Beginning January 1, 2007, there shall be an additional circuit
judge position within the thirty-first judicial circuit, to be known as
division six. The circuit judge in division six shall be elected for a sixyear term in 2008.

478.705. 1. There shall be [two] **three** circuit judges in the twenty-sixth judicial circuit consisting of the counties of Camden, Laclede, Miller, Moniteau and Morgan. These judges shall sit in divisions numbered one [and], two, **and three**.

5 2. The circuit judge in division two shall be elected in 1980. The circuit 6 judge in division one shall be elected in 1982. The governor shall appoint a 7 judge for division three and notwithstanding the provisions of section 8 105.030, RSMo, that judge shall serve until January 1, 2009. A judge for 9 division three shall be elected in 2008.

478.710. 1. There shall be two circuit judges in the thirty-second judicial circuit consisting of the counties of Perry, Bollinger and Cape Girardeau. These judges shall sit in two divisions numbered one and two.

4 2. The circuit judge in division two shall be elected in 1982. The circuit
5 judge in division one shall be elected in 1984.

3. Beginning January 1, 2007, there shall be an additional circuit
judge position within the thirty-second judicial circuit, to be known as
division three. The circuit judge in division three shall be elected for
a six-year term in 2008.

Section 1. 1. Beginning January 1, 2007, there shall be two 2 circuit judges in the thirty-third judicial circuit consisting of the 3 counties of Mississippi and Scott. These judges shall sit in two 4 divisions numbered one and two. 5 2. The circuit judge in office on August 28, 2006, shall sit in 6 division one and shall be elected in 2006. The circuit judge in division 7 two shall be elected in 2008.

✓

