#### FIRST REGULAR SESSION

# **SENATE BILL NO. 155**

#### **102ND GENERAL ASSEMBLY**

INTRODUCED BY SENATOR BLACK.

KRISTINA MARTIN, Secretary

## AN ACT

To repeal section 262.217, RSMo, and to enact in lieu thereof one new section relating to the state fair commission.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Section 262.217, RSMo, is repealed and one new 2 section enacted in lieu thereof, to be known as section 262.217, 3 to read as follows: Effective September 1, 1995, there is created 262.217. 2 a "State Fair Commission" whose domicile for the purposes of 3 sections 262.215 to 262.280 shall be the department of agriculture of this state. The commission shall consist of 4 5 nine members, [two of whom shall be active farmers, two of 6 whom shall be either current members or past presidents of 7 county or regional fair boards,] one of whom shall be the 8 director of the department of agriculture[, one of whom 9 shall be employed in agribusiness, and three at-large 10 members who shall be Missouri residents]. The director of 11 the department of agriculture [shall be the chairman of the commission until January 31, 1997, and] shall not be counted 12 against membership from a congressional district[, at which 13 The [chairman] chair shall be elected from among the 14 time]. members of the commission by the commission members. Such 15 16 officer shall serve for a term of two years. Commissioners 17 shall be reimbursed for their actual and necessary expenses incurred when attending meetings of the commission, to be 18 EXPLANATION-Matter enclosed in bold-faced brackets [thus] in this bill is not enacted

### EXPLANATION-Matter enclosed in **bold-faced** brackets [thus] in this bill is not enacted and is intended to be omitted in the law.

1129S.01I

**SB 155** 

19 paid from appropriations made therefor. Commissioners shall 20 be appointed by the governor, with the advice and consent of 21 the senate. [The county fair association in the state may submit to the governor a list of nominees for appointment, 22 23 three from each congressional district, for those commission 24 members who are required to be current members or past 25 presidents of county fair boards. Not more than four 26 commissioners excluding the director of agriculture shall be 27 members of the same political party.] Each commissioner 28 shall be a resident of the state for five years prior to 29 [his] the commissioner's appointment. The eight initial commissioners shall be appointed as follows: two shall be 30 31 appointed for terms of one year, two for terms of two years, two for terms of three years and two for terms of four 32 years. Their successors shall be appointed for terms of 33 four years. A commissioner shall continue to serve until 34 35 [his] a successor is appointed and qualified. Whenever any 36 vacancy occurs on the commission, the governor shall fill 37 the vacancy by appointment for the remainder of the term of the commissioner who was replaced. Up to three commission 38 39 members may be appointed from the congressional district containing the state fairgrounds as described in section 40 262.220, but there shall be no more than two commission 41 42 members from [any] each of the other congressional [district] districts. 43

2

 $\checkmark$