Senator Barbara Washington


District 9 - Part of Jackson County
First elected to the Senate: 2020
View District Map (PDF)

Senator Barbara Anne Washington, a Democrat, represents the 9th Senatorial District in the Missouri Senate. She was sworn into office on Jan. 6, 2021. Prior to being elected to the Senate, she served the residents of Jackson County in the House of Representatives for three years.

Senator Washington proudly supports increased economic development in her district – including preserving the notable “18th & Vine” district, increased funding for educational opportunities and universal health care for all. In her district, she regularly presents programs designed to bring attention to the importance of small business development, juvenile justice reform, minority mental health awareness, crime reduction and environmental preservation.

When she’s not advocating for her district, Sen. Washington volunteers with her beloved sorority, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. She is a member of the St. James United Methodist Church, the Metropolitan Community Colleges Board of Trustees, Urban Summit, Freedom, Inc., the Kansas City Boys/Girls Choir and the United Nations Association of Greater Kansas City.

In addition to her legislative duties, Sen. Washington is a practicing attorney who also possesses an MBA. She is a proud graduate of the University of Missouri-Columbia’s famed School of Journalism. She obtained her Master of Business Administration from Avila University and her Juris Doctorate from the University of Missouri-Kansas City.

Senator Washington is a lifelong Kansas City, Missouri, resident. She has one daughter and two grandsons.

Prior Legislative Service: 
House of Representatives: 2017 - 2020

Statewide Committees:
Children's Trust Fund Board Member
Missouri Capitol Commission
Missouri Consolidated Health Care Plan – Board of Trustees
Missouri Food Security Task Force


2023 End of Session Report
2023 Community Service Directory

Missouri Department of Mental Health
DMH Crisis Assistance
Show-Me Hope Missouri
DMH Suicide Prevention









Contact Information

201 W. Capitol Ave., Rm. 329
Jefferson City, Missouri 65101
Email the Senator

Legislative Staff:

Brian Farmer
Sheron Fulson

Legislative Information

Constituent Services